Cambridge Summer Music Festival

Schubert Octet & Beethoven Septet

Saturday 30 July, 7.30pm

West Road Concert Hall

Wigmore Soloists:
Matthew Denton violin
Laura Samuel violin
Rachel Roberts viola
Richard Jenkinson cello
Tim Gibbs double bass
Peter Sparks clarinet
Robin O’Neill bassoon
Alberto Menéndez Escribano horn

Franz Schubert Octet in F major D. 803
Ludwig van Beethoven Septet in Eb major Op. 20

The Wigmore Soloists is a new chamber ensemble of outstanding musicians, who give regular concerts at Wigmore Hall and in other major venues around the world. The ensemble plays repertoire both old and new, and commissions leading composers to expand upon the extensive catalogue of chamber music works. With a core line-up of string quintet, wind quintet and piano artists, the group is dedicated to revitalising great works at the highest level.

Schubert’s glorious Octet composed in 1824 about the same time as his Death and the Maiden quartet, contains some of his most engaging music. It was inspired by the second work in the programme, Beethoven’s Septet of 1800. Both works require a combination of strings and wind, and the prominence given to the clarinet and other wind instruments was innovative at the time. This is a rare opportunity to hear both masterpieces played together by one of the country’s most exciting new ensembles.

Tickets: £20, £26 plus booking fee.
(8-25 years free)

Generously supported by the Binks Trust and the Cavatina Trust

Wigmore Soloists