Chausson: Concert for Violin, String Quartet & Piano

Chausson: Concert for Violin, String Quartet & Piano

Freya Goldmark (solo violin)
Bengt Forsberg (piano)
Charlotte Saluste-Bridoux (violin)
Lorraine Campet (violin)
Pierre-Antoine Codron (viola)
Tom Almerge-Zerillo (cello)

6:00pm, £18, Free for 25 and Under


Mozart String Quartet No.19 in G Major K.465 ‘Dissonance’
Chausson Concert for Violin, Piano and String Quartet

Concert duration 1 hour 10 minutes

Book Now

Beginning this evening of chamber music is the Quatuor Confluence with Mozart's String Quartet in G Major K.465. Nicknamed “Dissonant” because of its fascinatingly chromatic Adagio introduction, which finally explodes into a dramatically driven Allegro in bright C major, Mozart's K.465 is undoubtedly one of his most celebrated String Quartets.

The Quartet will then be joined by Festival Director, Freya Goldmark and Swedish pianist, Bengt Forsberg for a performance of Ernest Chausson's 'Concert for Violin, Piano and String Quartet'.

Violinists know Chausson as the composer of the Poème; singers, for the well-worn mélodie Le Temps des lilas. Fans of Debussy know him as the big-brotherly benefactor who helped the struggling composer over many a financial hurdle in the early 1890s; and everyone seems to know of his untimely death in a bicycle accident.
“Never have I had such a success! I can’t get over it. Everyone seems to love the Concert.” Ernest Chausson wrote this joyous comment in his diary after the premiere of his Concerto in D Major for Violin, Piano, and String Quartet, Op. 21 in Brussels in 1892. It was the composer’s first critically acclaimed work. It is an amazing, emotionally charged composition, constructed meticulously; a masterpiece of cohesion and instrumental colour.

Google Calendar

Apple Calendar

Booking for all Summer Festival 2021 concerts opens on 10 June for Friends of CSM and on 17 June for general booking. To receive alerts, sign up to our mailing list