Cambridge Summer Music Festival 2023

Britten Oboe Quartet

Saturday 15 July, 7.30pm

Sidney Sussex College Chapel

(By kind permission of the Master and Fellows of Sidney Sussex College)

Nicholas Daniel oboe
Jacqueline Shave violin
Judith Busbridge viola
Caroline Dearnley cello

Edward Elgar Andante and Allegro
Benjamin Britten Phantasy Quartet
W.A. Mozart Flute Quartet in C, K171
Thea Musgrave Cantilena
Danish Trad Sønderho Bridal Trilogy
W.A. Mozart Oboe Quartet in F, K.370

Nicholas Daniel founded the Britten Oboe Quartet together with his colleagues and co-principals of the award-winning Britten Sinfonia. They bring to the ensemble not only the highest musical standards but also the experience of playing together over many years, resulting in warm and expressive playing.

The quartet enjoys exploring lesser-known works. The folksong-inspired Sønderho Bridal Trilogy bursts with charm while Mozart’s beautiful oboe and flute quartets sit alongside two British composers. Elgar’s Andante and Allegro is one of the earliest works he wrote, while Musgrave’s lyrical Cantilena was first heard in 2008.

Generously supported by the Cavatina Trust 

Tickets: £26 plus booking fee
(8-25 years free)

BOOKING OPENS for Friends of CSM 9.00am Friday May 5

GENERAL BOOKING opens 9.00am Friday May 12